windbg.info
Home Search
 You are here: arrow Home Forum

Search Our Site

www.windbg.info
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Memory Access errors in the Kernel
(1 viewing) 1 Guest
Go to bottom
TOPIC: Memory Access errors in the Kernel
Brett K (User)
User Offline

Memory Access errors in the Kernel 27 Apr 2010 - 02:39
Hello, I am new to WinDbg, but not debugging in general. I am trying to step through certain calls like CreateFileA to see how they work, and I get to an area where it looks like the screenshot below:

j.imagehost.org/0320/windbg1.png

I am running WinDbg on Windows 7 64 as an Administrator, and it is connecting to a VMWare Windows XP 32-bit system. I am not sure why I would get access errors to this memory?

Logged IP
  The administrator has disabled public write access.
Robert Kuster (Visitor)
User Offline

Gender: Male www.rkuster.com Location: Slovenia, Europe Birthday: 31 Jan 1978
Re: Memory Access errors in the Kernel 06 May 2010 - 12:04
Brett, welcome.

Note that you are trying to debug user-mode code (kernel32!CreateFileW is user-mode code...) from a kernel-mode debug session. To do this you must ensure the context of your process is actually used (its virtual addresses space paged-in etc.). A simple .process ?? and .reload /user should fix your memory issues described.

A few more words
The transition from user-mode to kernel-mode is accomplished trough an opcode called sysenter/sysexecute (Intel/AMD). You can see this if you debug a few steps into kernel32!CreateFileW. The call stack will then look like this:

0:000> k
ChildEBP RetAddr
0012f7a0 7c90d0ba ntdll!KiFastSystemCall+0x2
0012f7a4 7c8109b6 ntdll!NtCreateFile+0xc
0012f83c 0045c771 kernel32!CreateFileW+0x35f

And the disassembly of ntdll!KiFastSystemCall:

0:000> uf ntdll!KiFastSystemCall
ntdll!KiFastSystemCall:
7c90e510 8bd4 mov edx,esp
7c90e512 0f34 sysenter
7c90e514 c3 ret